Large Scale Central

Table Saw or Band Saw

Let me begin by saying I’m a pretty competent carpenter. I can build just about anything you want. I have used both a Table Saw and Band Saw in the past but own neither. I need to cut up some redwood for making my wood tressle and plan to use a saw for making other wood pieces as needed.

What do you think is more useful a Band Saw or a Table Saw? I only really want to buy one or the other.

From a cabinet maker’s point of view, I would say tablesaw. With all the recomended safety precautions, you can do alot with a tablesaw. I.E. Cut scale lumber, cross-cut, cut down sheets to size, bevel, dadoe and a host of other things. IMHO an bandsaw has it’s merits as well but my go-to saw is mostly always the tablesaw. My 2 cents worth only.

Randy McDonald said:
From a cabinet maker's point of view, I would say tablesaw. With all the recomended safety precautions, you can do alot with a tablesaw. I.E. Cut scale lumber, cross-cut, cut down sheets to size, bevel, dadoe and a host of other things. IMHO an bandsaw has it's merits as well but my go-to saw is mostly always the tablesaw. My 2 cents worth only.
Go with this advice and you won't go wrong

I have both. I find the table saw easier to rip wood down on, although I know many do that with a band saw also. My favorite saw is my old Dremel table saw, use it ALL the time. Also a cheap chop saw with a 2" blade from Harbor Freight. Made a table for it(described in these forums) that made it easier to use. I do use the band saw quite a bit also.

A good table saw…:wink:

Ken Brunt said:
A good table saw.............;)
Ya what he said! Sean

I find I use my band saw more than my table saw in cutting wood for this hobby.

Table, band and cut-off.
All on my “bucket list.”

Every bridge and building on my layout built with non-electric tools except a dremel.
Crazy? Yes.

I recently purchased a pinner and a brad gun. Still need the compressor.