Large Scale Central

Question/Help Request

Hello,

I have a question for those experienced with small layouts…

Our family ended up getting a swimming pool this year, so my nascent, not-so-big layout has been torn down and moved to my parents’ house, about an hour away.

I am still wanting a very small layout to play with here at home, and so I am contemplating something quite small and mobile so that I can move it around our very smalll yard. This would let me set it out on the patio to run small trains, using my Lil Critter and Mighty Mack locos, and move it out of the way when people are using the pool, etc.

To do this, I want/need a very small radius turn…around 32" D.

Does anyone have experience with this? Can anyone please give some advice on how to bend the track to allow this? (I am a novice modeler).

Thanks

Paul McKenzie

Nepean, ON

Vic Smith should be able to answer all your questions. I think every layout he’s ever built could fit inside a pizza box. Do a search for “Pizza Layout”. It may or may not get you some result.

Here ya go Paul:

https://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/8809/portable-pizza-layout?page=1

Some really cool photos there! Quite confident whatever I do will not look that good, but lots of inspiration to draw from…

if i were to build a movable layout, i would use frames and adjustable legs (like sawhorses)

the width depends on one’s desires (much landscape around the track, or not)

the length of the modules should be a multiple of the standard rail-lengths.

for curves i would stay with R1. so each 90 degree curve would need to be a 800mm x 800mm (31.5" x 31.5") frame.

maybe this: http://kormsen.info/modulbau/ gives you some ideas.