Large Scale Central

Chuff Question

I thought I’d start this new post on a current topic I’ve been searching answers to for few weeks now.

I’m looking to add chuff to my LGB Forney and am at a total loss as to what to do. I’ve removed all the LGB electronics and replaced with Tony Walsham’s RC gear and a Phoenix P8 sound card. I’ve somehow lost the pc/reed switch assembly that originally was installed in the engine in between the drive wheels. I’ve assumed this was the chuff sensor. I could be wrong.

I’ve searched hard and long and am finding tons of information about reed switches, magnets, and hall sensors and the like. What I’m not finding is practical application with step by step instructions how to build any of this for my application. I’m not an electrician and I don’t understand schematics, but I can look at an example i.e photo or sketch and can pretty much figure things out…with time. I’m not the fastest eggliner in the bunch.

Is there a practical guide or log of someone building and installing something like this in an engine? I’d like to understand a bit more about how all of this works and how it all gets hooked up.

If you have a suggestion I am most appreciative.

Thanks,

Richard

Hello Richard.

If you have the Phoenix software and programming hardware, you can set the P8 for (adjustable) voltage controlled chuff.

Otherwise use four tiny magnets on one drive wheel so they can trigger a reed switch at the correct position.

It is easier to add magnets to the Freight truck wheels and glue a reed sensor to the truck.

If using the LGB 65012 reed sensors for bell and whistle, the chuff reed can be attached/glued to this assembly.

On my first Forney I installed the Phoenix sound board, battery, and speaker plus program jack and volume control in the fuel bunker.