• Topic: I'm being dragged, kicking and screaming,

Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • December 5, 2018 9:15 PM EST
      • Santa Ana, CA

• Thanks

John Passaro said:
      David Maynard said:

Yea, Photo Shop can do all kinds of things ....

In the world of art I live and work in, digital cameras and Photo Shop turned everyone into a regular Ansel Adams (except with oversaturated color...boo, hiss). Now it's almost impossible to make a living as a photographic artist. Good thing I'm a painter ?!

Have you tried digital painting in 3-D???  Ever seen "Tilt Brush"  This program sells for <$20.

Occulus Rift is <$350 (<$200 on C/L) and a gaming computer powerful enough to run it is ~$600 lightly used.

This post was edited by Todd Brody at December 5, 2018 9:18 PM EST
    • December 6, 2018 5:05 PM EST
      • Denver, Colorado

• Thanks

Todd, you have got to be kidding me. It's amazing. I'm not exactly shocked to see all the artists featured are about twenty!!

• December 6, 2018 5:35 PM EST
      • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

• Thanks

John Passaro said:
      David Maynard said:

Yea, Photo Shop can do all kinds of things ....

In the world of art I live and work in, digital cameras and Photo Shop turned everyone into a regular Ansel Adams (except with oversaturated color...boo, hiss). Now it's almost impossible to make a living as a photographic artist. Good thing I'm a painter ?!

But, isn't over-saturated colour a way to (poorly) mimic Kodachrome?

Steve Featherkile said:

David, the difference is cameras made in Japan by superb technicians, and those made in China, or Vietnam, by makeesee, makeedo.  The Japanese ones go to camera stores, and the others go to Costco or Best buy.  So I've been told.  

Yeah, I s'pose Photoshop can do geewhiz stuff, but i take great pleasure in working in the darkroom.  I take pleasure in being a Luddite.