Large Scale Central

1:18 Diecast with F Scale trains

I wasn’t in the market for die cast cars, but got sold pretty well at a local flea market we attended with my brother and his wife. I asked the price; “$25 each” he says. “They sold for over $100 from Danbury Mint”. I’m not an expert, but I’ve heard of Danbury mint and they are pretty good stuff. Not wishing to part with that much cash I said thank you and turned to leave. “$20 each if you by two”. “No Thanks” I said and walked away. Before I got out of ear shot; “how about 2 for $20?”. I kept walking but thought that sounded pretty good. After a few minutes I came back to take him up on the offer but decided to counter with “How about 3 for $25?” He accepted so I am now the owner my first three 1:18 scale die cast cars.

Upon inspection when I got home they are definitely not Danbury Mint. Only one is branded Welly and all are from China. To be fair he, never said they were, just used them as a price point. A little trickery, but it worked for him. One does have a serial number, but no maker name. All have some blemishes and there are a few missing parts, but at less than $8.50 each I still feel good about the price. I picked up a Ford Crestliner, a Chevy Bel Aire and a Cord roadster.

Scale discrepancy to 1:20.3 has been discussed to death in other places. I can’t afford Hubley and don’t really want cars of the eras that Hubley made. They certainly look a lot better than 1:24 with my trains. Just for fun I calculated the difference. 1:18 scale is 2.3" scale inches per inch, or 11.3% too big. On the other hand, 1:24 is 3.7" or 18.2% too small. The error to 1:24 scale make it look horrible except in forced perspective. I did some test photos tonight and think they look OK, but you be the judge.

The Crestliner…

The Chevy…

And the Cord…

I need to think up some outdoor scenes then pose them for better photos.

Jon,