Large Scale Central

Redneck Engineering, AKA The Fuddy-Duddy Car Works

Don’t laugh, it’s not perfect, but it does work. I actually built this plow 3 years ago. It’s made of scrap and left over parts. The deck is from a Bachmann tender, caboose body is from Scientific Toys, lower half of the plow is from a Bachmann Thomas, top half is an inverted Bachmann K-27 plow, headlight from a Bachmann circus train, and there’s 3.5 lbs of lead and assorted metal on the inside.

Mike that is one really cool conglomeration of spare parts! As a bonus, it works. (https://largescalecentral.com/externals/tinymce/plugins/emoticons/img/smiley-wink.gif)

I won’t laugh. Being as I am a redneck engineer myself, I appreciate redneck engineering.

That’s a great Baldwin plow, few are able to catch the lines so well!

Looks like itwold fit into any backwoods operation. Looks good to me. Nice work.

John Caughey said:

That’s a great Baldwin plow, few are able to catch the lines so well!

Thanks John, but I think that’s pushing it a bit, no pun intended. I researched actual railroad plows, and while it may be close, I don’t think it quite resembles an actual prototype.

I scratchbuilt this railbus about 15 years ago. It started out life as a Bachmann circus train combine, and originally as a 2wd by way of a sawed-off Aristo motor block, with the front wheelset off of the circus train ten wheeler. It was also radio controlled on battery power with 8 AA batteries. R/C came from a Toy-Grade Nikko race truck. Worked fine, slow, but fine, but couldn’t pull any other cars other than itself. I thought it would be able to pull around a Bachmann coach, but it wouldn’t.