Large Scale Central

wood burning tender

So some of you have seen my tender I had started after I had asked the question about painting with or without the details on it. So I figured I would do a build log on it. This is my first time building a tender from scratch. I am using the book " Civil War Railroads and Models" all the drawings are in 1/4 scale so I just scaled it up to 1/24. The tender is constructed of scrap wood that I have. It is Pine, Basswood , and a pine dowel. So here we go…

Frame glued up and squared.

Decking added…

Cornes 1/4 from a 3/4 inch dowel rod.

Tank sides and corners glued and ready to set to frame.

Tank sides glued to the frame and deck with centre ready to install.

Corner dowels added and will be contoured to fit.

Corners installed and sanded along with the beveled edges in place.

One inside of tank added with the outside corners contoured to the beveled sides…Also added some pieces along the top at the edge to support the top of the tank.

Next the top of the tank is being added.

Side view without trucks…

Front view with the trucks installed and checked again for height to the leading car being pulled…Corners at the beveled sides are also sanded to final shape.

Corner brackets made from 1/8 x 1/16 bar stock.

Flat brass bar stock and power pickup from a truck used to make the steps.

Step and tubing soldered together with a completed step next to it. These are 1 1/8 tall will be used on the front corners.

Both steps done and need to be cleaned up and painted. I did change the tubing to 1/32 from the 1/8 that I originally used. Looks much better. Will show that pic later.