Forums General Videos
  • Topic: New(to me) Dash 9, with the new revolution

    Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • July 16, 2017 11:23 PM EDT
      • Norris City, Il.
         
      • Posts
        785
      • Thanks
        58
      • Thanked
        65
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      New(to me) Dash 9, with the new revolution

      I really like the new sounds. The only thing I don't care for is the horn. But, for me this engine will be third in line. So, that doesn't matter.

       

    • July 16, 2017 11:59 PM EDT
      • Nashville, IL
         
      • Posts
        4,778
      • Thanks
        150
      • Thanked
        117
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Nice video and run, Matt...   

    • July 17, 2017 7:00 AM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        150
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        13
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      i wish this this was my back yard!!!!

       

      great addition!

    • July 18, 2017 11:28 PM EDT
      • Norris City, Il.
         
      • Posts
        785
      • Thanks
        58
      • Thanked
        65
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Thanks Andy and John!

    • August 12, 2017 11:04 AM EDT
      • Cape Cod,
         
      • Posts
        2,596
      • Thanks
        31
      • Thanked
        54
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Yours sounds great.

       

      I have the new Revo and I like the horn but I don't like how you can't control the duration.  I don't want to blow for a crossing when all that is needed is a quick toot when leaving the yard.

    • August 14, 2017 5:40 PM EDT
      • Norris City, Il.
         
      • Posts
        785
      • Thanks
        58
      • Thanked
        65
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Todd, i wish I could blast the horn on my own too. At least the sound is much better though.

    • August 19, 2017 1:18 PM EDT
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,004
      • Thanks
        76
      • Thanked
        246
      • Reputation
        Respected

      I think one of the issues is that the system is set to trigger sounds with magnets, so the "reasoning" was a grade crossing.

      I've got to keep bugging them that the remote option should be the horn/whistle on momentary, blows as long as you hold the button.

      Also the bell should be a toggle, and go on and off as commanded, not 7 rings or whatever.

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • August 20, 2017 7:26 PM EDT
      • Deer Park, Washington
         
      • Posts
        11,963
      • Thanks
        259
      • Thanked
        163
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      The horn and bell are my only complaints.  Should be an easy fix.

       

      They have the emergency stop problem fixed.  It stops immediately,  allowing for a quick slowdown, to avoid crunching the gears.

       

      Greg indicated elsewhere, perhaps on his website, that the locomotive started at too high a speed, that he could not simulate walking speed.  That seems to be fixed, too.  Using the default settings, my SD 45 would come to life with sound and lights at "1" on the "speed" readout, and very slowly (less than walking speed) begin to move at 5 or 6, depending on grade.

      This post was edited by Steve Featherkile at August 20, 2017 7:32 PM EDT
      ____________________________________

      Not only does my mind wander, sometimes it walks off completely.

       

      Some people try to turn back their odometers.  Not me.  I want people to know why I look this way.  I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.  Will Rogers.

    • August 22, 2017 6:10 PM EDT
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,004
      • Thanks
        76
      • Thanked
        246
      • Reputation
        Respected

      Umm... they fixed the emergency stop?

       

      Try setting the loco to link address 49 and then emergency stop. If it stops immediately then, it has been changed.

       

      The way it works originally is sends 50 stop commands, from link address 00 through 49.... link 00 gets the first command. This is why you link your locos starting there, not 49... but let me know, and I'll test it too in a week or so.

       

      The starting speed default may have been changed, although the 3 axle Aristo locos take a lot more voltage for the same speed as the 2 axle ones..

       

      Anyway, a good value for the money, and Navin is still there, so you do get good support.

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

Forums General Videos

    Icon Legend

  • Topic has replies
    Hot topic
    Topic unread
    Topic doesn't have any replies
    Closed topic
    BBCode  is enabled
    HTML  is enabled

Add Reputation

Do you want to add reputation for this user by this post?

or cancel

Ads by Google