Large Scale Central

Recommendations on purchasing Sherline mill

OK, the time has come to buy a small mill. Just for odd stuff. I have something small and expensive I want to machine, and my little Unimat 3 is probably not up to the job.

Looking at the Sherline (yes I know there is other cheaper stuff), I can see various options, and I figure I need at least the one fitted for CNC, but probably not the package where they sell me a computer too, have plenty of those.

There appears to be 3 different “sizes” of the mills, and also there’s the CNC options.

Anyone have a recommendation on models/packages and also options.

Please do not suggest an alternative product, Sherline is about 1 mile from here, and yes I will go there and get their recommendation too, but I want unbiased advice.

So any advice on Sherline and/or CNC gotchas, good software, things to avoid would be appreciated.

Thanks, Greg

Greg,

As you probably know, I was a CNC mill/MasterCam programmer in my previous life as a forging die sinker. Definitely go with Sherline and don’t cut corners on the options for CNC. A lot of this can get “down in the weeds” and not sure if it should be discussed here. But if you like you could email me and we can discuss the various ways to go with this.

You might want to contact Dwight on MLS as he has a Sherline CNC mill and built most of his cab forward and his 1-1/2 inch live steam American with his Sherline.

Video to whet your appetite:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vw5e_6yaVTw

I thought Dwight went to a larger mill, I’ll call him.

Thanks Gary… and I think we can discuss it as much as we want here, but I forgot there is a tools forum, maybe I should have the thread moved.

I’m going over to Sherline today at lunch to ask a few questions… although I’m afraid to take my checkbook, impulse buyer!

Greg

Update, Dwight has a Sherline, and made his G scale live steamer with it.

He did go to a larger mill to make his 1-1/2" stuff