Large Scale Central

Casting metals

Who has experience in casting parts and stuff with metal like pewter lead and such?. I know of one on here …Devon… I have 15 years of experience with casting lead bullets for muzzle loading Civil war firearms, so I have the melting pots for such stuff. These however are cast in bullet mold blocks. Unlike bullets Ya have to make molds for what ya want to cast. This is where I’m getting confused somewhat on the molding material type. I have read that you use high temp RTV and some say silicone rubber molds?. the latter sound like it would melt or burn. I like the idea of doing metal casting as it would last longer and maybe get better details and the possibilities are somewhat endless on what ya can make. So any input, ideas, or suggestions would be welcomed. Thanks for all the help… Travis.

This may be an area of personal preference. I see RTVs advertised as suitable for “high-temp” applications, such as pot metal. However, I suspect the traditional process is vulcanized rubber

High temp RTV is the way to go… It will handle pewter, and other similar low temp metals. The right RTV is designed for this use, and will produce high detailed parts if you do it right. I have cast numerous parts and made various molds for truck side frames, bolsters and switch parts.

As you can see, there is a need for large volume spurs to handle the shrinkage of the pewter. Also make sure that the master and molds allow for good flow to all areas. On this mold I heat it ( the mold) before I pour.

EDIT: Also, check with you metal supplier as to the recommended pouring temp. Also High temp RTV is defiantly less flexible and a harder rubber. It will last near forever if it is used for Resin casting, and the same mold can be used for both metal and resin.

Edit: John C. would be the local Guru on spin casting and Vulcanized rubber molds.

Dave,

What brand of RTV mold did you use in he above pics?