Large Scale Central

First attempt at switch building

I finally decided it was time to build switches to replace my Aristo. After reading up on switch making and from talks on here I realized that the only way to learn was to just do it. Im using my Aristo switches as a template since the ones im building have be the same size. I started out with making a photo copy of the Aristo switch. This will be my template. Since I’m not good with numbers etc… I decided that this will be built through trial and error.

The first thing I did was cut the pieces of rail that I would need and lay it over top the template that way I get the curves and frog angles correct.

No automatic alt text available.

Next I soldered the frog together.

Once had everything made I decided to make a jig to hold the ties in place while I lay and spike everything.

I thought the points would be tough to do but ended up going well. I used a grinder and then a file for the fine tuning.

So far after testing with small wheels everything rolls through it well. I was surprised being my first attempt. Still need to do the guide rails and I also want to add screws through the rail were the spikes hold it down. That way when I take it out of the Jig everything stays in place.

The biggest PITA is attaching the points to the throw bar and figuring out how much gap to leave in the points so the points close all the way when you throw the switch.

Ya got that one down, now do a 3-way…(http://www.largescalecentral.com/externals/tinymce/plugins/emoticons/img/smiley-wink.gif)

Shawn,

I never have purchased a built up switch for my layout. having built them from scratch in my Hon3 days, I simply scaled up a certain organizations #5 switch in On3 and went on from there. this gave me all the required dims for clearances and works well with my desired switch stand of choice.

Looking good. glad to have another convert on board.

Al P.