Large Scale Central

New Gwire Receivers

Another of the mysteries in Large Scale we are facing is the demise of small companies that have specialized products.

My collection of 25 USAT and Aristo Locomotives are using both Phoenix and QSI Quantum/Titan sound systems.

Just as I began converting the QSI units to wireless, the supply of Gwire Receivers dried up. (sad but common story)

This month I was shocked to find a single new version Gwire receiver at a well known DCC dealer.

Are they out there?

The communication is spotty with QSI Solutions and most QSI dealers seem frustrated to say the least.

So, if anyone not also searching for Gwire receivers knows where some are available, please send me a PM.

Hopefully QSI Solutions will overcome it’s challenges and continue on.

Regards,

Mike

Forget G-wire receivers. Airwire and Tam Valley Depot have receivers that will work very well with the QSI and most other DCC decoders. I’ve been using them for three years now, and am very pleased with them.

Airwire just released a new 6-amp capacity version of their “Convertr” receiver. ($132 - $138) I have not played with it as it has just come on the market, but I’ve used their 2.7 amp Convertr receiver in a number of projects. Tam Valley Depot’s “DRS1 Hi-Power” receiver is very similar in operation to Airwire’s Convertr, though has a slightly lower capacity at 3 amps continuous, 5 amps peak. It’s also much cheaper, at $90. I’ve used the TVD receiver in a number of locos.

The advantage of using either of these boards as opposed to the G-wire receiver (besides the fact that they’re available) is that you do not have to set the QSI to “Airwire” mode. It works upstream of the QSI. You wire the output of the Convertr or TVD receiver to the track power inputs of the QSI board. You can easily wire the loco for track or battery DCC control, toggling either the track or receiver output feeding the decoder. (Also great for programming!)