Large Scale Central

Planning for Operations

So I’m a newb planning a railroad. Besides lots of industry sidings, what else should I be planning for future operations

Currently I am planning a single track mainline with passing sidings and lots on industries with a switching puzzle or 2 for phase 1 of consturction.

To get started, one doesn’t need lots of industries, depending on what you are capable of building and resources available… Industries can be added along the line, as you go…

Switching puzzles are fun to work… I have an industrial park on my layout, which somewhat simulates John Allen’s Timesaver switching puzzle…

Easiest way to get started, is to swap out like cars for like cars at the industries…

good luck with your design…

Yea, industries popped up along existing railroads, as needs and resources dictated. Why not model that way as your resources dictate? Have a main commodity for your railroad, and as time and resources (money) permit, add things along the line.

Railroads aren’t “static”, they change and adapt over time. Our model railroads can and should do the same. In correcting a design flaw (an S curve) I ended with some abandon track that I park some really ratty boxcars on.

(http://www.largescalecentral.com/public/album_photo/7a/b8/01/1b5c3_6351.JPG)

I plan on adding a switch there, and an oil well, once I get the tank car and the oil well built. Again, adding industries as my resources permit.

There’s quite a few articles on Operations that I and a few others have written.

http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/19595/operations-on-the-rgs

http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/20217/operations-on-the-j-amp-b-novem

http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/19860/october-operations-on-the-bluest

http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/19785/operations-on-the-j-amp-b

http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/17145/july-2012-operations