Large Scale Central

On3 Questions to get started

To all:

I’m new to On3 - not to large scale outdoors.
To minimize my making mistakes in starting in On3, please offer your observations:

1 - Is the standard HO flex track - Atlas, etc. designed for HO use, - the choice to use? Am I accurate that the true scale track is HO in width but for On3 there are different sized ties and spacing? I thought I saw an ad one time in Model Railroader for “true On3 track” but didn’t retrive it. If so, is the appearance dramatic enough to avoid using Atlas HO or another HO brand?

2 - Are the Bachmann locos in this scale, compared to their large scale’s offerings, glitch free? Granted, some simple problems, OK. However, for the cost, is it better in the long run to buy another brand? If so, whom? I believe Athern and Atlas do not make this scale. MTH? Broadway LTD?

Many thanks for your input. I built a Ruby kit and thanks to the help from LSC members I was able to “tune” it.

Wendell

Wendell, On3 ? do you mean On30? I think you do.

When I dabbled in On30 I planned to use Atlas code 100 track as the ties that came with thier code 100 track are mazingly huge for HO and looked close to in-scale for 1/48 scale. Peco sells flex and turnouts specificly for On30, so do a couple others.

Yes the Bachmann On30 models are 1/48 scale, their stuff in this scale is some of the best stuff in any scale period, forget all the glitches associated with G Bachmann. Almost all the conversion and kitbash kits out there are based on the Bmann lineup. Atlas and Athearn dont do anything, There are others like Broadway, but they tend to be fairly pricely compared to Bmann On30

On3 is the realm of custom brass handlaid track and lots and lots of money.

On3 is not the same thing as On30. They’re the same scale (1:48), but the track gauges are different. If you’re contemplating running on standard HO track, then you’re thinking of On30, not On3.